CALL 512-960-3438

Schedule Your Consultation Today!


Governor Abbott Names President & Appoints Six To Texas Medical Board

Posted By :
Comments : Off

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Sherif Zaafran, M.D., Michael Cokinos, Kandace Farmer, D.O., Jeffrey Luna, M.D., LuAnn Morgan and Jayaram Naidu, M.D. to the Texas Medical Board for terms set to expire April 13, 2021. The Governor additionally named Sherif Zaafran, M.D. president of the board.

Sherif Zaafran, M.D. of Houston is an anesthesiologist and president of US Anesthesia Partners Southwest Division. He is a delegate for the Texas Medical Association (TMA) and an alternate delegate and member of the Committee on Future Models Anesthesia for the American Society of Anesthesiologists. Additionally, he is chair of the Government Affairs Committee for the Texas Society of Anesthesiologists and is vice-chair for the Harris County Medical Society Delegation to TMA. Zaafran studied biochemistry at The University of Texas at Austin and received a Doctor of Medicine from The University of Texas McGovern Medical School in Houston.

Michael Cokinos of Houston is founder and president of Cokinos Energy Corporation. He is a licensed real estate broker, board director of Greek Orthodox Legacy Fund and a member of the Houstonian Club and Petroleum Club of Houston. Additionally, he is the former mayor pro tem and city councilman of Hunter’s Creek Village, past chairman and police commissioner of the Memorial Village Police Department and a member and past chairman of the Texas A&M University at Galveston Board of Visitors. Cokinos received a Bachelor of Arts from Texas A&M University.

Kandace Farmer, D.O. of Highland Village is a radiologist and breast imaging specialist in diagnostic radiology at Rose Imaging Specialists. She is a member of the Texas Medical Association, Society of Breast Imaging, American College of Osteopathic Medicine and the American Osteopathic College of Radiology Mammography Committee. Additionally, she is a member of The Links Incorporated, past member of the North Texas Women Business League and past volunteer for the Boys and Girls Club. Farmer received a Bachelor of Science from the University of Maryland Eastern Shore and a Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine from the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine and she completed her breast fellowship training at Johns Hopkins University.

Jeffrey Luna, M.D. of Livingston is a physician in private practice. He is a member of the American Medical Association, Texas Medical Association, American Academy of Family Practice and Physician Contractors of Texas. Additionally, he is a member and volunteer for the Spirit Ride Supporting CASA and the Walk to End Alzheimer’s. Luna received a Bachelor of Science in biomedical science from Texas A&M University and a Doctor of Medicine from Texas A&M University Health Science Center College of Medicine.

LuAnn Morgan of Midland is sales director for Cavallo Energy. Prior to joining Cavallo, she served as District Manager for TXU Electric and Gas overseeing electric distribution and customer service for 11 West Texas counties. Upon early retirement, she became an adjunct instructor at The University of Texas Permian Basin (UTPB) in Statistics and Marketing. She was elected to Midland City Council serving three terms, and served as a past gubernatorial appointee of the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. She has served as president and campaign chair of United Way of Midland, and is a member of the Midland Chamber of Commerce Board, UTPB President’s Advisory Board, Boy Scouts of America, Senior Services and Rotary International. She is a Leadership Texas graduate and co-founding member of two nonprofits, Midland Humane Coalition and Communities in Schools of the Permian Basin. Morgan received a Bachelor of Science from Texas Tech University and a Master of Business Administration from UTPB.

Jayaram Naidu, M.D. of Odessa is a physician and president of Naidu Clinic and an assistant clinical professor for Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. He has been in private practice as an internist for over 40 years. He is a member of the Texas Medical Association, Ector County Medical Society and the Texas Tech Health Sciences Center Advisory Board and a past board member of the Odessa Chamber of Commerce. Additionally, he is a former gubernatorial appointee of the Chronic Kidney Disease Task force. Naidu received a medical degree from the Guntur Medical College in Andhra, India in 1966, and completed his residency Internal medicine at the A.C. Logan Memorial Hospital in New York.